opinions on beauty, culture & life

How often do you come across a beauty product that completely revolutionizes your makeup routine? I’ll often love a new product, thinking, “I’ll use this for life!” And then two weeks later it’s buried under the next great thing. It’s very rare to stumble upon something that you’ll actually keep using.

Well, I plan on using Dr. Jart’s Premium Beauty Balm for a looooong time – maybe even forever. Not only does it replace my tinted moisturizer and foundation, it replaces my regular AM moisturizer, my sunscreen, and my primer! I’ve literally cut my “getting-ready” time by at least ten minutes. That means I can hit “snooze” if I want!

So, what is this amazing product? “Beauty Balms,” “Blemish Balms,” or “BB Creams” are wildly popular in Asia, and finally they’re infiltrating the U.S. market. Basically, they combine a few steps into one, with a flawless complexion being the result. They contain moisturizers, pigment, high-protection sunscreen, and anti-aging ingredients. BB Creams also have pore-smoothing properties, so they can also replace your foundation primer.

Most BB Creams are pretty light in color (probably because of the high mineral SPF content), but hopefully color ranges will be expanded soon. If you are darker than an ivory shade, you will probably need to layer a bit of foundation or foundation powder over the balm to avoid looking ashy (plus your regular blush and bronzer). The beauty of these creams is that while you can wear them alone, they are also meant to go under makeup, creating a perfectly smoothed and moisturized surface for foundation. One friend wore hers under foundation, and she said it actually made her skin look healthier, and that her foundation looked better than ever.

Dr. Jart’s Premium Beauty Balm is lightweight, but still provides a great amount of coverage (even more coverage than a high-coverage tinted moisturizer like Laura Mercier’s). I’ll use one pump to even everything out, and then another half-pump or so to build up coverage on my cheeks, nose, chin, and also to blend into my neck. If I have a bad breakout or some irritated, red patches, I’ll spot conceal with a full-coverage concealer. On good to semi-good skin days, though, I won’t even need concealer. Then I finish with blush, bronzer, highlighter, and a mineral setting powder. The finish is dewy and fresh without being too wet. Powder is definitely essential to take down the dewiness in the T-zone. And if the color is too light for you, pick a pigmented foundation powder that matches your skintone and just use that to set the Beauty Balm.

The first few times I used it I got really dewy in the late afternoon. It was a little too dewy for my taste. Only later did I realize that this product is supposed to replace your regular moisturizer, not go on top of it. Cutting out the extra moisture made a huge difference! And just think about the money you’ll save by cutting out extra steps and extra products.

So, to break it down, here’s what I love about Dr. Jart’s Premium Beauty Balm:

  • Perfect amount of hydration
  • Anti-aging ingredients like a Bio-Peptide Complex to promote collagen synthesis, Arbutin to brighten and even skintone, and Adenosine to improve elasticity and firmness. (I’ve actually noticed improvements in my skin’s evenness and brightness)
  • Pigment that matches my fair skin (which rarely happens with a one-size-fits all product) and covers well
  • High-protection mineral sunblock (SPF 45) which provides natural, broad-spectrum UVA/UVB protection
  • All the products I don’t have to buy anymore (AM moisturizer, facial sunscreen, primer, foundation, tinted moisturizer)
  • The compliments! I’ve been getting tons of them since I’ve been using it.

Do yourself a favor and try this amazing product! Buy it here at Sephora.

samantha daffodil

Comments on: "Dr. Jart’s Premium Beauty Balm" (1)

  1. I remember tons of products like this in Japan. Plain old primers are huge there too. Makes sense why their skin looks flawless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

